Slow that flow

Although I planned to survive my grad school years with the help of Blue Lotus by attending several classes per week, my enthusiasm for patronizing that studio on a regular basis has waned. I attended two classes in the three-ish weeks since I moved to Raleigh and felt…disappointed. Not only did I have to fork over 12 bucks per class (call me unrealistic, but I think that charging more than $10 for a yoga class undermines yoga’s universality), but the folks (they really are great) at Blue Lotus teach a slow vinyasa class.

Don’t get me wrong, I understand the value of a slow yoga practice. In fact, I’ve reaped significant benefits from attending classes with instructors who teach students how to slow the heck down. And I particularly enjoyed the first class I took at Blue Lotus because the instructor spoke about setting intentions before a yoga practice, then had us consciously remember that intention several times throughout class. This I liked.

But I prefer my regular yoga practice to involve copious amounts of sweat and heavy breathing. I revel in the feeling of purity that envelops my body after wringing out every toxin inside of me, a feeling that usually accompanies a fast-paced class. I also believe that a fast-paced practice helps students, especially we college kids, focus on our bodies, rather than our anxious, whirring thoughts. When we move quickly on our mats, our bodies take over and (temporarily, at least) silence our thoughts so that we can follow the instructor. Anytime we can get out of our heads will serve us well, fellow college kids.

Nevertheless, I will return to Blue Lotus…and begrudgingly pay $12 for another class. Maybe slowing our flow is what we need. Between the papers, the meetings, the conferences, and the classes, we college students might benefit from a little slowness.

Leave a Reply

