Cool songs that I think we should hear in yoga class

I think my descriptive title can stand alone, so I’ll jump right into it:

Waiting by Madonna: Duh, the first song on my list pays homage to my lady hero. An obvious choice for yoga-like songs would include anything on her Ray of Light ablum, released when lady M started practicing herself. But this song comes from Erotica, an album full of cool, several-minute, contempletive songs that would work perfectly for a yoga class.

Dog Days Are Over by Florence and the Machine: Who doesn’t love this song? It helped me endure a run on the beach I took with my cousin in May. That’s right, the last time I went for a run was in May. Because running is painful and boring.

Us by Regina Spektor: I figure most people in a yoga class have seen 500 Days of Summer, and this song is so beautiful, so I think it could work.

All I do is Win by DJ Khaled: Yeah, I have a very lustful crush on Snoop. And he’s featured in this song. And I think people should play it in class so I can fantasize about hanging out with my man. Plus, this song is all about being a boss, a rockstar. That’s how yoga can make us feel.

Wild Horses by Rolling Stones: Given. I dedicated a blog post to this song.

Strip Me by Natasha Bedingfield: When I think of Natasha Bedingfield, I immediately think of The Hills, which shames me. Because I have major beef with that show. But this song makes me happy, especially if played in a yoga class.

It’s Amazing by Jem: This one inspires and comforts me. The meaningful lyrics coupled with Jem’s haunting voice makes for one cool yoga song.

Young, Wild, and Free by Wiz Khalifa: Another song that showcases my boyfriend’s pipes (dirty?). Drug references aside, this song helps us access our playful, care-free, in-the-moment side, like yoga.

I could keep adding songs to this playlist (though God knows it would turn into an ode to Madonna and Snoop), but I’m content with my selections for now. Stay tuned (ha!).

Any yoga playlist suggestions? 

2 thoughts on “Cool songs that I think we should hear in yoga class

Leave a Reply

