Do the yoga!

About to leave for my first yoga class in a looooong time. Hey, for this college yogi, two-ish weeks without some sweaty vinyasa feels like an eternity.

As I continue to heal my relationship to food and with my body, I have relaxed about my yoga class frequency. My obsession with being healthy (a.k.a. thinner) transformed yoga, an inherently healing form of exercise for the mind and body, into yet another way for me to burn calories and measure my self-worth against the number of times I participated in a week. I’m still working on this.

But for the most part, I just do yoga because it makes me feel good. I do it when I can, though I prioritize it because I love it so much. When I am unable to fit a class into my weekly schedule, I don’t freak. I’ll catch another one soon.

This is what the normal people do. They eat what they want, when they want. They stop when they’re full. They do the yoga when they can and when they want to. They do not feel lazy or inadequate when they can’t make it to class. They’re just normal.

Ya dig? Now it’s off to class for this normal (in some ways, at least) yogi.

Oh Jerri Blank, how I love thee.

One thought on “Do the yoga!

Leave a Reply

