This helps

While my recent trip to North Carolina was less productive (in my opinion) than I hoped, I must acknowledge several points of productivity that my mother and I experienced:

1) We familiarized ourselves with the city of Raleigh and the NC State campus (and off-campus). Armed with nothing but a few Mapquest/Google Map print-outs, we slowly but surely learned how to navigate the area. Sure, a GPS might have eased some stress, but I contend that we have a much richer, lasting knowledge of how to navigate the city because we relied on our own minds, rather than desperation-inducing technology to find our way.

2) We drove by (twice) the yoga studio that I will be patronizing on a regular basis. Holla Blue Lotus!

3) I discovered the wide variety of coffee beverages sold in McDonald’s. Who knew? I enjoyed this (Iced Caramel Mocha, I think?) on our trip down, partially because I needed some sugary comfort as I grappled with bouts of anxiety/exhilaration regarding my pending move to NC.

All in all, we in no way wasted our time on this spontaneous journey to find housing…even though housing we did not find.

Leave a Reply

