Something from Lululemon that DOESN’T irk me

The somewhat dubious business tactics of Lululemon, a high-end yoga and athletic clothing retailer, disturb me. I take umbrage with its merchandise that promotes controversial ideology, its exorbitant prices that subvert its philosophy that “yoga is for everyone,” and general commodification of yoga.

More visually, my feelings regarding Lululemon looks like this:

However, I applaud Lululemon’s ability to poke fun at yogis who take themselves (and yoga) too seriously. This video, a parody of Kyle Humphrey and Graydon Sheppard’s Youtube sensations “Shit Girls Say,” truly entertained me. No matter how authentic (or inauthentic) Lululemon’s effort is to demonstrate that its staff is down with the people, I crack up every time I watch this.

Check it:

What are your thoughts? 

Leave a Reply

