I have a date!

Indeed, folks. I hold in my hand a date.

Before I booked it to a vinyasa class on Thursday night, I concocted Joy the Baker’s delicious, nutritious milkshake.

Peanut butter, almond milk, banana, oats, flax seeds? Sounds like a decadent drink to me. While Joy’s recipe calls for a heaping teaspoon of honey, I relied on another, some may argue superior ingredient for sweetness….

Dates!

Get a load of these beauties:

Actual ones I brought home (less vividly appealing, yet still absolutely delicious):

I scored these babies at a kooky, hole-in-the-wall health food store and simply cannot get enough of them. Into the blender went a small handful. They blended nicely with the other ingredients and added some richness to this already decadent, comforting drink.

Dates contain a significant amount of calcium, iron, and potassium. Plus, they scale low on the glycemic index, meaning that they give us a shot of healthy sweetness without wreaking havoc on our blood sugar.

They’re chewy. They’re sweet. They’re versatile. They’re gooey little miracles.

They’re dates!

And apparently, dates increase sexual stamina. Though this also involves goat’s milk and cardamon.

2 thoughts on “I have a date!

Leave a Reply

