Yoga 101

While I feel relieved and downright jubilant about my recent graduation and general survival of the final semester of my senior year, I can’t help but feel somewhat nostalgic as I watch undergrads ransack Bed Bath and Beyond for cheap flatware and bed sheets to use in dorm rooms and apartments. Misty-eyed, though ultimately content with my status as a post-grad, I read the Facebook statuses of my friends currently in college denoting their excitement and dread of another semester.

Sure, I still consider myself a college student, as I have begun the grad school application process for Fall 2012 programs. But after being a student for 22 years and adopting the habit of emotionally and physically preparing for another school year come late August, I feel slightly awkward without having to accommodate the impending change in my schedule.

During the 2011-2012 school year, I will work. I will apply to several graduate schools, a process that requires commitment akin to balancing five classes and attending meetings for various clubs and projects.

But today, I write to those of you actually to beginning another semester. In response to a recent tweet from a student asking for tips about how to practice yoga under the constraints of the college lifestyle, I have compiled a list of ways to incorporate yoga into your busy schedules.

Virtual Yoga: Crack open your laptops, clear off a few feet of floor space, and start practicing with free yoga videos! A mat, rug, or almost any kind of flooring works for yoga. Check out these online resources:

Tara Stiles Yoga’ Channel

Yogatic

Do Yoga With Me

Sadie Nardini’s Channel

Kathryn Budig’s Strengthen Your Core

Coupons: Millions of yoga studios offer deals on classes and workshops in order to attract customers. Take advantage of cheap yoga in your area featured on:

Groupon

Living Social

Dealster

List of more social coupon sites

Yoga DVDs: These affordable DVDs feature fun, effective routines that offer you a convenient way to release stress, burn calories, strengthen muscles, and increase energy:

Yoga Anywhere

Daily Yoga

Rodney Yee’s Yoga For Beginners

Yoga Burn with Rodney Yee

Core Strength Vinyasa Yoga Power Hour

Yoga Shakti

Yoga Partay: Take a break from beer pong and reality T.V. marathons by hosting a yoga party with roommates and friends. Pop in a DVD, pull up some online routines, or lead your guests yourself in a fun, sweaty practice. Invite your fellow yogis to dress in crazy-sexy outfits (conducive to various yoga poses, of course), create a rocking playlist, and down-dog it up at school. Check out my post, Roommate Yoga, for some tips doing yoga with non-yogi friends.

Leave a Reply

