A Particularly Green Monster

Around 11am on Friday, after a yoga class with one of my favorite instructors EVER, I concocted a particularly delicious, nutritious, and very green drink. This week I participated in a detox program in which I (for the most part) consumed blended or juiced drinks and soups. Friday’s lunch consisted of this bright green smoothie, a drink that delighted my taste buds and eyeballs:

Into the blender went a handful of kale, a handful of collard greens, 1 pear, and 1 frozen banana. Wowza did this bad boy pack a punch. Its sweet, tart flavor awakened my senses, and its smooth, frothy texture cooled my body, not to mention the negative thoughts ravaging my mind that day.

A blended drink replete with alkalizing produce such as leafy greens and low-sugar fruits nurtures and nourishes the body. Plus,  blending greens into a smoothie allows us to incorporate an abundance of chlorophyll into our diets. As the blood of plants and the foundation of all plant life, it possesses a molecular structure almost identical to the hemoglobin molecule of human blood. Chlorophyll, especially when blended into a smoothie, is vital to our bodies in numerous ways:

-Chlorophyll heals and cleanses all our organs and even destroys many of our internal enemies (pathogenic bacteria, fungus, cancer cells)

-Chlorophyll carries significant amounts of oxygen and thus plays a critical role in supporting the aerobic (good) bacteria

-As the blood of plants, it possesses a molecular structure almost identical to the hemoglobin molecule of human blood

-Flushes drug deposits and other toxins from body

I’ve found that saturating my blood and organs greens also bolsters my yoga practice. After consuming a green smoothie or juice, I feel energized and nourished, enabling me to calm my mind during difficult poses, balance myself quickly and (fairly) easily, and maintain awareness in every moment.

Drink your greens, fellow yogis. Drink your greens!

Leave a Reply

