Sweet. Chewy. Refreshing.

My desire to nurture loved ones with food and my obsession with How Sweet it Is persists. After a 9:30 yoga class yesterday morning with my favorite instructor EVER, and after the surprisingly tedious process of sending my transcripts to grad schools, I immersed myself in the world of lemons. The Chewy Lemon Cookies recipe calls for fresh lemon juice, lemon zest, and lemon extract, delightful ingredients that really pack a punch.

Like the batter for the Strawberry Cupcakes I whipped up last week, the lemon cookie batter took on a lovely color and an invigorating scent. Who needs Bath and Body’s Lemongrass body lotion when you can just smear this stuff all over yourself?

Admittedly, I only included 1 egg in the batter, instead of the 1 egg plus 1 egg yolk that the recipe listed, so perhaps my batter was drier than intended. While juggling a bag of lemons and searching for lemon extract, I forgot to buy more eggs.

And I’m pretty sure I used too much batter to scoop each cookie, as they took well over the 10-12 minutes they were supposed to take to bake, or even brown.

I promise I know how to follow a recipe-I just feel so passionate in the kitchen that I sometimes divert (accidentally, of course) from ingredient lists and preparation instructions. Also, dancing to Britney and Pitbull while trying to read a recipe on my laptop adds to my blissed-out oblivion while baking.

But the cookies turned out beautifully. My friends loved their sweet, refreshing taste. I didn’t even have to tell them that I overlooked a few parts of the recipe.

Can I help it if I love making food for others SO much that a haze of culinary passion envelops me and ever so slightly impairs my attention to detail?

Leave a Reply

